Rye Whiskey Revival

Home / Who makes it

68 ryes · 52 businesses

Who makes it

Every listed rye, with the grain recipe, proof, age and bond status its maker states, quoted from the maker's own site. 17 of the 68 have at least one such quote.

Label shorthand: mash bill, straight, bonded, proof, chips
Mash bill
The grain recipe: the share of each grain the whiskey is made from. For the legal floor on rye, see rye vs bourbon.
Straight
The rules' storage requirement for straight rye: “Charred new oak barrels at 125° or less for a minimum of 2 years” (27 CFR 5.143(c), Table 1, row (5))
Bottled in bond, bonded
One of the six conditions: “Bottled at 50 percent alcohol by volume (100 degrees of proof).” (27 CFR 5.88(a)(6); all six)
Proof
The quote above shows the scale: it pairs 50 percent alcohol by volume with 100 degrees of proof.
Chips
The short tags on each card ("95% rye", "5 yr", "straight") are our shorthand. Each comes from the quote below it or from the product's own name.

ⓘ "No quote captured" means we didn't capture one from the pages we read, not that the maker doesn't say. Distilling badges describe the business, from a quote on its listing, not who distilled that particular rye. The location shown is where the business holds its TTB permit, which isn't necessarily where a rye was distilled.

KOVAL Rye Whiskey - 100% Organic Single Barrel

KOVAL Distillery · TTB permit: Illinois

  • 100% rye
  • 80 proof

100% rye (our reading of the quote)

The business says it distills on site

Grain recipe
“KOVAL Rye is made from a unique mash bill of 100% organic rye grain, sourced from a Midwestern farm collective.” (koval-distillery.com/whiskey/rye)
Proof or ABV
“KOVAL Rye Whiskey: 100% organic rye grain, single barrel, 80 proof.” (koval-distillery.com/whiskey)
Age
No quote captured
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
“KOVAL Rye is crafted from 100% organic rye grain, distilled using only the "heart cut" -- the purest middle portion of each distillation run.” (koval-distillery.com/whiskey/rye)

Product name as shown on koval-distillery.com/whiskey/rye.

Rye Whiskey

The Bardstown Bourbon Company, LLC · TTB permit: Kentucky

  • 95% rye
  • 6+ yr

95% rye 5% not stated (our reading of the quote)

We couldn't tell who distilled it

Grain recipe
“A celebration of innovation, our rye whiskey starts with a classic 95% rye recipe aged at least 6 years which is then doubled barreled in a secondary hybrid cherry wood barrel for a minimum of 6 months.” (bardstownbourbon.com/products/origin-series-rye/ (store page, not linked))
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
In the quote under Grain recipe
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
In the quote under Grain recipe

Product name as shown on bardstownbourbon.com/our-products/ (store page, not linked).

7 Year Sweet Mash Rye Whiskey

Hard Truth Distilling Company LLC · TTB permit: Indiana

  • 7 yr

The business says it distills its own; we couldn't tell where

Grain recipe
No quote captured
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
“Sweet Mash Rye is one of three offerings in Hard Truth’s very first release of seven-year-old, grain-to-glass, sweet mash whiskeys.” (hardtruth.com/spirits/7-year-sweet-mash-rye-whiskey/)
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
In the quote under Age

Product name as shown on hardtruth.com/spirits/7-year-sweet-mash-rye-whiskey/.

COPPER FOX ORIGINAL RYE WHISKY

Copper Fox Distillery Enterprises, L.L.C. · TTB permit: Virginia

  • ⅔ rye

2/3 rye 1/3 barley (our reading of the quote)

We couldn't tell who distilled it

Grain recipe
“COPPER FOX ORIGINAL RYE WHISKY Distilled from a unique blend of thoroughbred grains from the Northern Neck of Virginia; 2/3 rye, 1/3 barley, hand-malted and kiln-dried with applewood and cherrywood smoke.” (copperfoxdistillery.com/rye-gallery)
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
No quote captured
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
In the quote under Grain recipe

Product name as shown on copperfoxdistillery.com/rye-gallery.

Jaywalk Bonded Rye Whiskey

New York Distilling · TTB permit: New York

  • 9 yr
  • bonded

The business says it distills its own; we couldn't tell where

Grain recipe
No quote captured
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
“Jaywalk Bonded is a nine-year-old straight rye whiskey created by selecting and blending 5–10 of the finest casks from a single growing season.” (nydistilling.com/products/jaywalk-bonded-rye-whiskey (store page, not linked))
Bottled in bond
In the quote under Age
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on nydistilling.com/collections/rye-whiskey (store page, not linked).

Master Crafted Straight Rye Whiskey

MGPI of Indiana, LLC · TTB permit: Indiana

  • 94 proof
  • 5 yr
  • straight

The business says it distills its own; we couldn't tell where

Grain recipe
No quote captured
Proof or ABV
“47% ABV 94 Proof 700 ML Aged for 5 years, Rossville Union’s Master Crafted Straight Rye Whiskey delivers a sweet caramel nose, a fruit-forward palate, and a smoky, spicy body that finishes clean.” (rossvilleunion.com/)
Age
In the quote under Proof or ABV
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on rossvilleunion.com/.

Old Forester Rye Whisky

Old Forester Distilling Co. · TTB permit: Kentucky

  • 65% rye

65% rye 20% malted barley 15% corn (our reading of the quote)

We couldn't tell who distilled it

Grain recipe
“A historic recipe, acquired in 1940 by Owsley Brown I, Old Forester Rye features a mash bill of 65% Rye, 20% Malted Barley, and 15% Corn.” (oldforester.com/products/old-forester-100-proof-rye-whisky/ (store page, not linked))
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
No quote captured
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on oldforester.com/products/old-forester-100-proof-rye-whisky/ (store page, not linked).

Putnam Straight Rye Whiskey

Boston Harbor Distillery · TTB permit: Massachusetts

  • 95% rye
  • straight

95% rye 5% malted barley (our reading of the quote)

We couldn't tell who distilled it

Grain recipe
“Putnam Rye Whiskey is distilled from 95% Rye and 5% Malted Barley, aged to perfection Harborside in 53-gallon, new American Oak barrels that have been seasoned, toasted and charred.” (bostonharbordistillery.com/collections/putnam-whiskey/products/putnam-new-england-straight-rye (store page, not linked))
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
No quote captured
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
In the quote under Grain recipe

Product name as shown on bostonharbordistillery.com/collections/putnam-whiskey (store page, not linked).

Still & Oak Straight Rye Whiskey

Great Lakes Distillery · TTB permit: Wisconsin

  • 100% rye
  • straight

100% rye (our reading of the quote)

The business says it distills on site

Grain recipe
“The same 100% Rye mash bill as Great Lakes Distillery’s Still & Oak Straight Rye Whiskey.” (greatlakesdistillery.com/whiskey/)
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
No quote captured
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on greatlakesdistillery.com/whiskey/.

Bootjack Rye Whiskey

McClintock Distilling · TTB permit: Maryland

  • 75% rye

75% rye 25% not stated (our reading of the quote)

We couldn't tell who distilled it

Grain recipe
“A love letter to Maryland Rye Whiskey of the past, Bootjack Rye uses 75% Danko Rye in its pre-prohibition mash bill.” (mcclintockdistilling.com/organic-spirits/)
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
No quote captured
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on mcclintockdistilling.com/.

Castle & Key Restoration Rye Whiskey

Castle & Key Distillery · TTB permit: Kentucky

  • 5 yr

We couldn't tell who distilled it

Grain recipe
No quote captured
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
“Aged for five years, Castle & Key Restoration Rye Whiskey is a bold reflection of time, character, and craft.” (castleandkey.com/products/2025-restoration-rye-whiskey (store page, not linked))
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on castleandkey.com/products/2025-restoration-rye-whiskey (store page, not linked).

Dad’s Hat Bottled in Bond Pennsylvania Straight Rye Whiskey

Mountain Laurel Spirits · TTB permit: Pennsylvania

  • straight
  • bottled in bond

We couldn't tell who distilled it

Grain recipe
No quote captured
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
No quote captured
Bottled in bond
“Dad’s Hat Bottled in Bond Pennsylvania Straight Rye Whiskey follows all the regulations of the historic Bottled-in-Bond Act for age, proof and purity.” (dadshatrye.com/whiskey/bonded-straight-rye/)
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on dadshatrye.com/whiskey/bonded-straight-rye/.

Double Rye

High West Distillery, LLC · TTB permit: Utah

  • 2+ yr

The business says it distills its own; we couldn't tell where

Grain recipe
No quote captured
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
““Double,” because this whiskey is created from two rye whiskeys (both a minimum of 2 years old).” (ship.highwest.com/products/double-rye (store page, not linked))
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on highwest.com/pages/product-information (store page, not linked).

Jaywalk Straight Rye Whiskey

New York Distilling · TTB permit: New York

  • straight

The business says it distills its own; we couldn't tell where

Grain recipe
No quote captured
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
“Jaywalk Straight Rye Whiskey brings together six-, seven- and eight-year-old Horton heirloom rye whiskeys aged in medium-charred new oak, supported by a selection of complementary straight ryes.” (nydistilling.com/products/jaywalk-straight-rye-whiskey (store page, not linked))
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on nydistilling.com/collections/rye-whiskey (store page, not linked).

Straight 100% Rye Whiskey Aged 6 Years

Woodinville Whiskey Co. · TTB permit: Washington

  • 100% rye
  • straight
  • 6 yr

100% rye (our reading of the quote)

We couldn't tell who distilled it

Grain recipe
“This 100% rye starts with pure, traditionally grown rye cultivated exclusively for us on the Omlin family farm in Quincy, Washington.” (woodinvillewhiskeyco.com/products/straight-100-rye-whiskey-2026 (store page, not linked))
Proof or ABV
No quote captured
Age
See the product name above
Bottled in bond
No quote captured
How it's made
No quote captured

Product name as shown on woodinvillewhiskeyco.com/products/straight-100-rye-whiskey-2026 (store page, not linked).

Listed, with no spec quote captured

These ryes are on their makers' sites, but no sentence we captured states a grain recipe, proof, age, bond status or production step for that product. That doesn't mean the maker doesn't publish one.

Quotes were checked against each maker's site on October 12, 2026. A sentence appears under a rye only if it names that rye. Labels like "Grain recipe" are ours. See how we read the pages.